Thinking About Drinking (and Apple Sauce too)

Well, good people, I’ve been thinking about drinking.  It all started when I took home this 3/4 keg of Left Hand Brewery’s (located in Longmont, CO) Sawtooth Ale.  It was a major score!!!  This large amount of beer remained after a successful fundraiser, and no one wanted it to go to waste.  I did my duty and took it home.  We actually didn’t have much of it ourselves – it was Labor Day weekend, but come on!  That’s a lot of beer. We took it to the Community Roots farm party and they took care of most of it for us!

We brought home what was left after the farm party: well jostled and mostly flat - but still FREE and tasty. Sadie (trying to kiss me) and Max make a nice guest appearance here.

We brought home what was left after the farm party: well jostled and mostly flat - but still FREE and tasty. Sadie (trying to kiss me) and Max make a nice guest appearance here.

Providentially, our new friends Hunter and Sarah are experienced and experimenting hard cider makers.  Well, we’ve been sharing their wealth of gleaned apple cider (pressed at a farm in Lyons, CO) and really loving it.  This is MUCH MORE FREE than beer people (unless… its free beer)!  Sooo, I’ve been picking this weekend prepping for CIDER WEEKEND 2009 which should occur next weekend!  And then, after thinking it through a bit, I began picking more apples for APPLE SAUCE YEAR 09-10′!

Last year, in addition to having an almost endless store of keeper apples tucked away in our neighbor’s closed porch, Katie also made tons (40-60 jars I think) of apple sauce.  Well, now our kitchen is much bigger, the stove is (gasp!) full size, we live with 3 other people (1 of whom eats a high school diet of crap, and is therefore officially frowned upon here) and I hope to make a ton!  Many hands make light work too! Cynthia has agreed to make apple sauce with me while Katie is busy with other food prep.

I ran out of buckets and bags so I began dumping God's glorious apples into the trunk.

I ran out of buckets and bags so I began dumping God's glorious apples into the trunk.

This tree was extremely full of mostly non-buggy apples.

This tree was extremely full of mostly non-buggy apples.

This is only the beginning. Hopefully we’ll make a ton of cider and apple sauce.   Please comment and tell me that you’re about to glean free tasty Washington apples from your neighborhoods for sauce, storage, and cider.

1 Response to “Thinking About Drinking (and Apple Sauce too)”


  1. 1 cristen September 15, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    awww…. shucks!:0) miss you guys!


Leave a Reply

